MUSE Lunchtime Lectures

On the first Thursday of each month during the academic year, MUSE invites an inspiring University of Utah faculty member to present a Lunchtime Lecture in relation to our current theme. Join us in the Sill Center at 12:15 p.m. for free lunch and an hour of unique perspectives on the theme. Our Lunchtime Lectures provide great opportunities for you to meet students with similar interests and to connect with professors from different colleges and departments across campus.


literary exploration

Prof. Mark Matheson
Professor, English Department

teaching reflection

Prof. Seetha Veeraghanta
Professor, Undergraduate Studies

empowering students

Dr. Lauren Weitzman
Director, University Counseling Center



Balancing Optimism

Dr. David Derezotes
Director, Peace and Conflict Studies

Optimism in Politics

Prof. Kevin Coe
Associate Professor, Department of Communication

Medusa & Perseus

Prof. Margaret Toscano
Associate Professor, Department of World Languages and Cultures

Reason for Optimism

Prof. Christie Toth
Assistant Professor, Department of Writing & Rhetoric Studies

poetrY and hope

Prof. Mark Matheson
MUSE Project


Dr. Pamela Perlich
Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute

College in Prison

Prof. Erin Castro
Assistant Professor, College of Education


Community Engagement
dean-mcgovern (1)

Prof. Dean McGovern
Exec. Director, Bennion Center


Prof. Steve Alder
Professor and Vice Chair,
Family & Preventative Medicine


Prof. Mary Burbank
Assistant Dean, Teacher Ed
Director, UITE

Leading in the Black

Prof. Bryan Hotchkins
Institutional Research Associate
Adjunct Professor, Econ Studies

RESHAPING Communities

Sarah Munro
Director, University Neighborhood Partners


Special Group Panel Discussion
Rev. France Davis, Tasha Myers,
& Prof. Mark Matheson

community Architecture

Prof. Mimi Locher
Chair and Associate Professor,

the Beloved community

Prof. Mark Matheson
Professor, English
Director, MUSE


Theories of Justice


Pat Shea
Research Professor, Biology

THE end of privacy

Adam Tanner
Fellow, Harvard University

lgbtqia* next steps

Kai Martinez
Director, LGBT Resource Center

prisoners as protectors

Nalini Nadkarni
Professor, Biology

political engagement

Claudio Holzner

Claudio Holzner
Associate Director, Center for Latin American Studies

Critical Media Literacy
Martinez, Theresa

Theresa Martinez
Associate Professor, Sociology

Trans Allies


Rebecca Kling
Performance Artist

Justice & Documentation
Alvarez Gutierrez

Leticia Gutierrez
Director, Family School Partnership


Border Politics

Kent Ono
Chair, Communication

Financial Justice

Rob Mayer
Professor, Family And Consumer Studies

Indigenous Citizenship

Donna Deyhle
Professor, Education, Culture, & Society

Citizenship in Concert

Phillip Bimstein
Associate Instructor, Honors College

Imperial Power

Margaret Toscano
Director of Graduate Studies, Languages & Literature

MOSCOW Controversies

Robert Argenbright
Assistant Professor, Geography

Gay Family Matters

Elizabeth Clement
Associate Professor, History

Ethics & leadership

Kirk Jowers
Former Director, Hinckley Institute of Politics